Veterinary Professional Resources

A growing list of resources for equine veterinary professionals in Northern California, available to our valued NCAEP members.

CE Requirements

CE Required for License Renewal

California law requires veterinarians to earn a minimum of 36 hours of approved continuing education as a condition of license renewal. The continuing education credits must be earned in the two years preceding license renewal.

License Renewal Requirements

Of the 36 hours of required CE:

  • Up to six hours may be of self-study.
  • Up to 24 hours may be of business practice management or stress seminars.
  • All 36 hours may be science or medicine-based.

As of January 1, 2018, a veterinary licensee must complete a minimum of one credit hour on the judicious use of medically important antimicrobial drugs every four years for license renewal.

  • For licensees renewing in 2020, the one-hour course must be taken within the previous 2018-2020 two-year renewal cycle. The requirement will then follow a four-year cycle of every other renewal cycle thereafter (e.g. renewal in 2024, 2028, etc.).
  • For licensees renewing in 2021, the one-hour course must be taken within the previous 2019-2021 two-year renewal cycle.
  • The requirement will then follow a four-year cycle of every other renewal cycle thereafter (e.g. renewal in 2025, 2029, etc.).



Additional Information:

Judicious Use of Antimicrobials – Resources
CVMA Resources
VMB CE Notice

LiveScan Fingerprinting
If you know you have not been fingerprinted since 2012, there is no need to wait. You can submit fingerprints at any time.

Mandatory CE for Veterinarians  – CE Requirements

Mandatory CE for Veterinarians – Reference Chart

Mandatory CE for Veterinarians – Approved Providers

Mandatory CE for Veterinarians – Self-study

Mandatory CE for Veterinarians – Frequently Asked Questions

Mandatory CE for Veterinarians – California Law

California Veterinary Medical Board

American Association of Veterinary State Boards

Important Contacts

California State Veterinarian
Annette Jones, DVM
Director and State Veterinarian
(916) 900-5000

CVMA Contact
Grant Miller, DVM
Director of Regulatory Affairs

USDA Fed Vet
Katherine Frank



Veterinary Medical Board

University of California, Davis
Dr. Mary Beth Whitcomb
LAC Director
Dr. Carrie Finno
CEH Director
John Madigan

California Law: or
Controlled Substances Act, 21 USC 801 – 904
Code of Federal Regulations. 21 CFR Part 1300 – 1399
Veterinary Practice Act, Business & Professions Code section 4800 – 4917
Veterinary Medical Board Regulations, Title 16 Code of Regulations sections 2000 – 2085.13
Pharmacy Laws, Business & Professions Code section 4000 through 4426.
Pharmacy Board Regulations, Title 16 Code of Regulations sections 1700-1795
Controlled Substances Act, Health and Safety Code section 11000-11717


ASPCA Vet Direct Safety Net Program

In 2018 the ASPCA’s Equine Welfare department began piloting Vet Direct, a program that empowers equine veterinarians to locate and provide care to at-risk equines in their communities.

Veterinarians are supported for providing services for practical issues such as lameness, dental needs, lacerations, non-surgical colic and euthanasia. The focus for this work is on practical medicine with a total cap for services per horse set at $700, and owners are also asked to pay for a portion of the care.

Client Education Materials

NCAEP is busy planning the details and schedule for this portion of our new website. Please continue to check this website as content will be updated as soon as it becomes available.

Professional Educational Material

The veterinary school at the University of Georgia has created several modules of educational material, the most recent of which is about diagnostic analgesia of the equine distal limb. This is available as an ePub for use on Windows computers and as an iBook for use on Mac laptops and desktops. In fact, they have created more than 40 iBooks, all of which are available free downloads at the following links: